Dauphin Island Foundation, Dauphin Island, Alabama
Dauphin Island, Alabama

home page link
membership link
history link
Dauphin Island History Archives
irs information link
Board of Directors:
Dr. Melvin A. Lucas,
Chairman of The Board
Founding Director

Dr. John Porter,
Vice Chairman of The Board
-DI Bird Sanctuaries-

Mr. Fred Rounsaville,
Treasurer of The Board
-Pres., DI Water & Sewer Board-

Ms. Lamona Lucas
Secretary of The Board

Ms. Pat Edwards
Asst. Secretary/Treasurer
of The Board

Ms. Marti Harding
Founding Director

Mr. Bill J. Edwards

Dr. Fred Cushing
Director At Large

Ms. Ann Heard
Director At Large

Mr. Neil Hudgens
Director At Large

Mr. Victor Lott, IV
Director At Large

Mr. Merrill McPhearson
Director At Large

Mr. Frank Milstead
Director At Large

Mr. Lawrence Trotter

Mr. George Waldron
Director At Large

Mr. Jeff Collier, Mayor
Town of Dauphin Island

Mr. Bruce Jones, Pres.
DI Property Owners’ Assoc.

Ms. Shawn Williams Perloff
Pres, DI Park & Beach Board

Mr. David Graves, Pres.
DI Chamber of Commerce

image of Dauphin Island from the air
Mission: The mission of the Dauphin Island Foundation is to facilitate communications and collaboration between entities on Dauphin Island, AL; to protect the environment and to promote projects and activities that enhance life on the Island.
Purpose: The purposes for which the Corporation is organized are exclusively charitable, scientific, literary and educational with the meaning of section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (the "Code") or corresponding section of any future federal tax code, including, for such purposes, the making of distributions to organizations that qualify as exempt organizations under section 501 (c)(3) of the Code, or corresponding section of any future federal tax code.
Activities: Solicit contributions of goods, services, real property, and money in the form of grants, contracts, endowments, donations and volunteer work to:
  • Provide technical, communications, financial, and other support to organizations and individuals already advancing the Foundation's missions.
  • Originate and support new organizations to further the Foundation's mission.
  • Provide a forum for ongoing dialogue and mutual assistance between groups and individuals supporting the Foundation's mission.
  • Sustain activities of the Foundation.

    History: The Foundation was founded in 1991 employing Dauphin Island volunteers and resources with organizational assistance provided by the Auburn University Economic Development Institute.

    Management: The Foundation is operated by a twenty one (21) member Board of appointed Directors comprised of:

  • Seven (7) Directors
  • Nine (9) Directors-At-Large
    and the following-
  • Mayor, Town of Dauphin Island
  • President, Dauphin Island Property owners Association
  • President, Dauphin Island Chamber of Commerce
  • President, Dauphin Island Water and Sewer Authority
  • President, Dauphin Island Park and Beach Board

    Contact: For further information about the Dauphin Island Foundation, contact us at:
    P.O. Box 946
    1101 Bienville Blvd.
    Dauphin Island, AL 36528
    Telephone (251) 861-3800